I have finally found and signed those artists that I would like to work with on the Spell Compendium project. Its a small group of excellent artists, new and old (and by that I mean in the industry).

Let’s see;

The first I contacted and who agreed was… Darren Calvert. I remember seeing some of his work during the golden 3e era, and more recently, in some of the Open Design products. His style is slightly cartoonish, but also what I would call high fantasy. His colouring is even somewhat flamboyant and especially colourful, which I really like. I have a series of illustrations that will be perfect for his style, especially the following spells; Draconic Whip and Force Bombard.

The next to sign on was a chinese newcomer called JinnFeng. He actually works for a studio called Noah Ark Studio, and you can find some of their work here. I have only seen some of his environments, so I’m taking a bit of a chance here, since I need him to do mostly character and object work. He is apparently very adaptive and can suit his style to the others on the project. I really look forward to seeing what he can bring to the project. Some of the spells that he will be illustrating are; Armor of Flames and Stomach of Holding.

Then I talked to Florian Stitz. He is working heavily on other projects at the moment (Pathfinder projects, I believe), but really wanted to participate. He has promised nothing, but will see if he can’t find the time to do at least a few pieces. I’m really hoping that he can find the time for the following illustrations; Mirror and Gruesome Appearance.

The next to jump aboard was a young artist who had contacted me a while back. I didn’t have anything for him at that time, but I think this project will be well suited to his particular talents. His name is Carlos Torreblanco, and yes, if you are a Pathfinder fan, you might have seen his work in the Pathfinder fanzine, Wayfinder. I’ve asked Carlos to do a large amount of smaller illustrations, which among other things, will showcase some of the odd material components.

Next up was a Headless Hydra Games favorite, and yes, I’m speaking of Justin Hernandez! I’ve worked with Justin on several projects and he has always delivered excellent work. This time he will deliver colour work, and I really look forward to seeing the pieces that he will be illustrating. Justin will be illustrating the following spells; Arm to Pick and Animate Mageship.

At this point, I knew that I wanted at least a few full page illustrations. Why? Just because it would be cool and untraditional (not many publishers offer the money it takes to buy full page interior art). I was happy to learn that Jeremy McHugh wanted this gig! I remember seeing Jeremy’s art in many of the books that I really like, Bard’s Gate, among those! He will be doing two full page illustrations and a few minor illustrations, among those; Eerie Forest and Hand of the Chuul.

And of course, there is the cover art! This has already been commissioned and delivered, and if you are wondering who did it, well, his name is Adam Denton and you can find his portfolio here! You can see the cover… in colour… above!

Almost forgot to mention Rene Walk! He will design the logo/title and the background/borders for Eldritch Secrets! I really look forward to see what he comes up with, but I’m sure that it will exceed my expectations by a mile!

