Last night, and I mean that literally, I did a short interview with Ed Healy (from RPGCountDown) about Mor Aldenn. There’s basically a chance that it will be in the top10, well, there’s a chance the Mor Aldenn Cartography will be, but I really doubt it. It seems  to me that there are a lot of new products selling really well.

He asked me a little question that I just didn’t know the answer to, or at least I didn’t at the time. I was thinking that the asnwer had to be podcast-friendly, and whatever answer I could come up with wasn’t podcast-friendly at all 🙂

He asked me; “Did anything inspire you when you created the Mor Aldenn maps?” 

The short answer is, no, at least not in the way that he meant it. I’m a big fan of maps, and I do have a few old maps of ancient Denmark, but I never look at them when creating new maps.

For me, creating a map is hard work. I try not to think too much about it, and just let my hands do the work. Of course, I have some overall ideas, like if I want a nearby river, some islands or a surrounding forest, but that can change a hundred times during this process. With the Mor Aldenn map, my ideas changed a lot. I started with a northern coastal city with a strange island/cliff called Dragonstone and a huge mountain nearby, but that’s not what I ended up with! 🙂

For me, it’s all about the feeling that the map leaves me with. I must have that feeling of exploration, but oddly enough, the map must also appeal to my sense of aesthetic. Basically, it must be beautiful; a piece of art.

I believe it took me 3-4 months just to create the Mor Aldenn map, but that didn’t mean that it was finished, no far from it. I then had to hand the map over to William McAusland, my cartographer, who had to make his interpretation of my map sketch. And even then, when Will had created a small black and white masterpiece, I had to hand the map over to Jonathan Roberts who could start to give it some colours.

Yeah, a lot of work, but you know what, all worth it!

This, Ed, is what I should have answered! 🙂 But hey, it worked out in the end..

